Tags

, , , , , , ,

At the end of the Barnegat Lighthouse jetty, several kinds of birds gathered on the beach to search for food. They did not mind my being there among them and allowed me to get some close-up shots.

There were sanderlings,

Sandpiper_IMG_1195

ruddy turnstones,

RuddyTurnstones_IMG_1222

including this one which was totally concentrated on its search for food.

RuddyTurnstones_IMG_1250

Then there was a dunlin which had just landed and was bouncing around.

Dunlin_IMG_1261

Here are two dunlins in the process of taking off.

Dunlins_IMG_1262

I also went back to where the Harlequin ducks were bobbing on the waves, and saw two Longtailed ducks, which were just as colorful. The one with the long tail is the male.

LongTailedDucks_IMG_1443

So on the shortest day of the year I had my fill of shore birds and ducks. Who would have ever thought that so many of them were at Old Barney?

BarnegatLighthouse_MG_2514

