Tags

, , , , , ,

Most people come to Orlando, FL to visit Disneyworld, and very few ever go to the Audubon Center for Birds of Prey nearby in Maitland.  Yet it is a very interesting site for those who want to have a real close look at birds such as eagles, hawks, falcons, and so on.

This is where sick or wounded raptors are taken care of and rehabilitated. Some are returned to the wild, but most can’t because of their disabilities. They have to remain at the center for the rest of their lives.

I was ambivalent during my visit there. I did not like seeing those beautiful birds chained, but was told that it was for their good because they would not be able to survive in the wild. I thought the birds looked sad, but the staff at the center assured me that they were well taken care of and were in the best possible environment for them, given their physical and mental conditions.

Bald eagle

Bald eagle

Hawk

Hawk

Falcon

Falcon

Owl

Owl

Kestrel

Kestrel

