Tags

, , , ,

There are not many wildflowers left at this time of the year. Gone are the wild sweet pea and cardinal flowers, leaving not even a trace of their former selves. This morning I searched hard for other flowers and happened on these salt marsh asters which looked rather pedestrian until I came for a closer look and saw bees busy at work on them. These flowers are quite small, as you can tell from their size in comparison to the bees.

Salt marsh asters and bees

Salt marsh asters and bees

Salt marsh asters and bee

Salt marsh asters and bee

The blue background you see in the above photo is Spring Lake at the Abbott Marshlands. The following shot is of an Eastern Phoebe, I think. It was flying back and forth in front of me as I hiked around the lake. At one point, it stopped on a tree branch and gave me enough time to get this shot.

Eastern Phoebe at Spring Lake

Eastern Phoebe at Spring Lake

