Tags

, ,

This morning I went back to the Barnegat Lighthouse jetty to try and photograph the Harlequin ducks that are known for showing up there at this time of the year. After about an hour of fruitless searching, I was on my way back when I spotted a female Harlequin duck swimming in the fast moving water that these ducks seem to like. She was by herself, with no male suitors in sight.

Female Harlequin duck at Barnegat Lighthouse jetty

Female Harlequin duck at Barnegat Lighthouse jetty

A little bit later, she jumped ashore and posed for me! As with most birds or ducks, a female Harlequin duck is somewhat dull compared to her male counterpart, but the unmistakable signs are the white circle behind the ears and white patches on her face. For photos of the more colorful male Harlequin ducks, please visit my post last year.

Female Harlequin duck

Female Harlequin duck

 

 

